Skip to main content

Full Form Of NDA, What Is Full Form Of NDA ?

The full form of NDA is National Democratic Alliance. NDA is an alliance or coalition of political parties in India. It is led by the BJP. The NDA was formed in May 1998 as a coalition to contest the general elections. It was led by the BJP, and included several regional parties, including the Samta Party and the AIADMK, as well as Shiv Sena. Its chairman was late Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee. Also representing the alliance are L. K. Advani, former Deputy Prime Minister, Narendra Modi, current Prime Minister and the Leader of the House in Lok Sabha; and Thawar Chand Gehlot, Leader of the House in Rajya Sabha and Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment and Amit Shah is the current chairman of the alliance.  The coalition ruled from 1998 to 2004. The coalition ruled from 1998 to 2004 and returned to power in the 2014 General Elections with a combined vote share of 38.5%. Its leader, Narendra Modi, was sworn in as Prime Minister of India on 26 May 2014. In the 2019 general election, the Alliance further increased its tally to 353 seats with combined vote share of 45.43%.


The NDA was formed in May 1998 as a coalition to contest the general elections. It was led by the BJP, and included several regional parties, including the Samta Party and the AIADMK, as well as Shiv Sena, the only member which shared the Hindutva ideology of the BJP. With outside support provided by the TDP, the NDA was able to muster a slim majority in the elections of 1998, and Atal Bihari Vajpayee returned as prime minister. The government collapsed within a year because the (AIADMK) withdrew its support. After the entry of a few more regional parties, the NDA proceeded to win the 1999 elections with a larger majority. Vajpayee became Prime Minister for a third time, this time for a full five-year term. The NDA called elections in early 2004, six months ahead of schedule. Its campaign was based around the slogan of "India Shining" which attempted to depict the NDA government as responsible for a rapid economic transformation of the country. However, the NDA suffered a defeat, winning only a 186 seats in the Lok Sabha, compared to the 222 of the United Progressive Alliance led by the Congress, with Manmohan Singh succeeding Vajpayee as prime minister.

Mentioned below following is a list of partners of the National democratic Alliance are :-

·       Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP)

·       Shiv Sena

·       Telugu Desam Party

·       Lok Janshakti Party

·       Shiromani Akali Dal

·       Rashtriya Lok Samata Party

·       Lok Janshakti Party

·       Apna Dal

·       Naga People's Front

·       National People's Party

·       Pattali Makkal Katchi

·       Swabhimani Paksha

·       All India NR Congress

There were quite a lot of other NDA partners apart from these parties, but they are unsuccessful in keeping their account open in Lok sabha election. But Mr. Modi show gratitude towards them for their involvement and contribution.

Following is the list of other NDA partners:-

·       DMDK

·       Haryana Janhit Congress

·       MDMK

·       IJK

·       KMDK

·       RPI (Athawale)

·       Jana Sena

·       United Democratic Front (Mizoram)

·       Gorkha Janmukti Morcha

·       Manipur People's Party

·       Revolutionary Socialist Party

·       Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party

·       Kerala Congress (Nationalist).